

COMM CIRC 21/21 SC CIRC 21/16

Planning for CCAMLR-40 and SC-CAMLR-40

TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION AND THE SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

Please find attached a joint letter from the Chair of the Commission and the Chair of the Scientific Committee.

Sincerely,

Dr David Agnew Executive Secretary

Attch.

Post PO Box 213, North Hobart, Tasmania 7002 Australia Address 181 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000 Australia Web ccamlr.org
Email ccamlr@ccamlr.org

Telephone +61 3 6210 1111 **Fax** +61 3 6224 8744



2 February 2021

Planning for CCAMLR-40 and SC-CAMLR-40

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

We recently had the opportunity to meet with the Executive Secretary to discuss the challenges we face this year.

We provide this joint circular to underline our view that given the continued uncertainty created by the COVID-19 pandemic, it will be important to start planning for CCAMLR-40 and SC-CAMLR-40 as early as possible. This will allow time for the preparation and consultation needed to ensure that the Commission and the Scientific Committee are able to consider the full range of issues that are before us, and that the Commission has the most up-to-date advice from the Scientific Committee in order to make its decisions.

This underlines the need for a coordinated approach in planning our activities in 2021, recognising the respective Rules of Procedure for the Commission and the Scientific Committee and their roles as constituted under the Convention.

In addition to this joint circular we will follow separately with circulars on the details of the process for planning the meetings of the Commission and Scientific Committee, and their subsidiary bodies, this year.

We would like to close by reflecting on the shared experience and achievements gained last year, which built on the goodwill and engagement of all Members, that we feel will provide the foundation for our work in 2021 and enable us to achieve successful outcomes in October, meeting the objective of the Convention.

Dr Jakob Granit Chair of the Commission Dr Dirk Welsford Chair of the Scientific Committee

MIC WAL